Oasis arises

10/07/2012 at 8:13 pm | Posted in Uncategorized | 2 Comments
oasis swimming pool

The exterior, unashamedly unrefurbished, by tired of london.

It’s been a while since my last post due to ridiculous quantity of studying, working and domestic commitments. But, finally, something’s happened which has prodded me out of my inertia. The Oasis ladies’ changing room has had a refurb which has really made a difference (something I said could never happen). The new tiling, wooden benches and lockers really do make the subterranean changing room look nice and the ‘vanity’ area is nicer than some hotel spas. Of course it will date but I’ve been here before with this pool and this is the first time that a renovation has resulted in the loss of that grim and dingy feeling (and there have been many over the years).

Of course it’s not all perfect… there’s only one bin in the entire room and it’s miles away from the shower which didn’t exactly encourage me to dispose responsibly of the hair I’d combed out while washing it. The only tissues are in the loos. I had to queue to get hold of some so that I could wipe my face of make-up before I got into the pool. And, while they’ve got rid of those weird benches with no solid surface on which to put things, the completely solid wood benches now leave nowhere to hang a wet swimming costume without it dripping all over the floor.

But, it really does look nice and makes weeks of walking through the ENTIRE sports centre in a wet cozzy to get to the back entrance during the building work feel worthwhile. Meanwhile, progress on the indoor pool seems to be slow, meaning that outdoor pool crowding continues apace. But, one problem at a time, eh?

2 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. I don’t think I’ve ever been to a pool that supplies tissues in the changing room – that would be dead posh. (I clearly hang out in the wrong places.) Still, we can dream, eh. Think I might have to revisit Oasis, and change my blog. Thanks for the info. Jenny

  2. They used to have massive rolls of paper hand towels at the Oasis, but yes, I think the real problem is that there are only two loos. ALSO there are no gratings anywhere – if you want to rinse your costume, it’s all over the floor (or go back to the shower fully dressed).


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

